Words and works of Contemporary Artist Keith M Ramsey

In the GRID as a Renaissance Man

A few months ago I said openly, and assuredly, that one of my goals was to be in one of Richmond’s most notable social and cultural magazines.

To be truthful, I was somewhat in awe of the people that were featured in these publications. They seem to be the talented, the professional, the successful and, lets face it, there’s something cool about having your photo and story in a magazine for everyone in town to read. Unless its about a drug arrest, political corruption or holding up a convenience store.DSC_3191

The only drug I’m into is Alkaseltzer Cold Plus when I’m sick, I’m not an a**hole politician and I don’t spend time casing 7-elevens while driving around Richmond.

I didn’t expect for the universe to hear me talk to myself out loud and decide to give me a shot. But, It seems the “Year of Transition” has transformed my artistic ambitions into a very true reality.

The latest edition of GRID magazine came out in the last week and as I was enjoying an evening at my favorite coffee shop with my best friend and my god-daughter, I proceeded to thumb thru the pages. I had gotten hints from people that I was going to be in it for the “Pipe Dream #4” Mural. (see the post below this one) I was stunned to turn to page #28 and see the photo of me in full-art mode on a scissor lift included in a full page article!

Written by fellow Southsider Richard Hayes of hillsandheights.org the article is titled “Southside Renaissance Man: A Mash-up Of Talent”. This is the first time I’ve been referred too as an “Renaissance Man” in a print magazine… Honestly, it’s the first time I’ve been called anything in a print magazine.

Although, there was a mistake made by giving me credit for the Crossroads Coffee truck (that was done by my friend and fellow artist Ted Sandersen), everything else offered a good insight of who I am and what I do as an artist. It was a huge pleasure to read.

Not only was the focus on the mural, Richard also pointed out the dancing I enjoy doing and, most importantly, the fact that I’m a serious steampunk artist!

The steampunk art inclusion is important because that has become the majority of what I’m creating in the studio.

My dad has always said “you don’t really know what kind of person you are until other people tell you.” This is one hell-of-a-way to find out what people think about me as an artist and a person.

I don’t know what 2014 is going to hold for me and my art, but if these past few months are any indication, sh*t is about to get big n 2014.

And if its going to be big, I’m sure its going to be covered in hard work, found objects and a good amount of paint!

RAMSEY in GRID Magazine

Thanx for viewing.
k!

Leave a Reply

