Words and works of Contemporary Artist Keith M Ramsey

Hitting the Big Time with a “Pipe Dream”.

Before last week the focus in the studio was on the two Danish Lounge Chairs purchased with the purpose of adding some steampunk style to them. The other thought that floated through my mind was if producing a painting would be possible this month.

Little did I know…

When I got the text from Ham? (Hamilton Glass) seeing if I wanted to participate in painting a mural at the RVA Street Art Festival.

I hesitated.

The thought of creating a painting on such a scale shocked me, plus, I thought I was going to participate by helping Ham(?) with his mural so to my surprise when I showed up he immediately took me Ed Trask. We discussed the location for the work and if one of the out of town muralist weren’t to show up, maybe I’ll be able to take it.

So on Wednesday, I took it.

“Before the storm..”

The two bay doors are made of 3 different materials, two of which worked well with the paint, the material (white) at the top was covered in soot from the buses and the paint rode on top of it instead of soaking into it, making blending color more difficult.

As far as the imagery, as soon as I got the “go ahead” I knew it would be the same imagery hanging in my yard and on the guitar case on display at Art180. It was time to make its presence known in its biggest way yet.

ImageImageImage

“Changing times…”
After baking with the sun on Wednesday I thought it would be a good idea to beat the heat by getting out there early…real early. 4:30 am early.

ImageImage

ImageImage

After working 9 hours, part of it in the blazing sun, it was time to cool down for a couple of hours. What I didn’t know was later that evening, a storm would keep me from coming back out to work @ 7 pm. So I took the opportunity to catch some more sleep and try again on Friday morning at 8:00 am.

ImageImageImage

“Too cold & too tired…”
Saturday, getting up at 4:30 am, and not ready for the cold, I only lasted till 6am then went back home for some more sleep and some warmer clothes.

Obtaining a lift, thanks to Matt Lively, and now able to reach the top of the mural,
work began at 8 am ending at 6:30 pm.

ImageImage

“The Big finish… A long way to go and a short time to get there.”

Back at it Sunday at 6 am to finish the largest piece of art I’ve ever created.

ImageImage

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImage

“Reaching the goal…”

At just before 6 pm I signed “Pipe Dream #4”, completing the largest painting I’ve ever created (measuring approx 16ft high by 34ft long) and in the shortest amount of time I’ve ever had to complete a work.

I was tired and exhilarated because of the opportunity, the experiences and the support from fellow artist and the viewing public. Thanx to Ham(?) for the vote of confidence,  Ed for being willing to give me a shot, Matt for hooking me up with the lift when I needed it, Sir James Thornhill for throwing my stuff in the garage before the storm hit.

And a big thanx to Erin, Jessica and Mike at PUNCH for understanding how important this was and allowing me to take off from work to get it done.

You guys are the best!

What’s next?

I don’t know, but whatever it is, its only going to go up from here.
The studio is active, the work is flowing and a creative life is really, really good.

Image

Thanx for viewing.

k!

Leave a Reply

