Words and works of Contemporary Artist Keith M Ramsey

In Good Company…

This month a project I was honored to participate in, opened in Jackson Ward in downtown Richmond, VA (the RVA) and I was in good company showing with some of RVA’s most notable artist. Artist like RVA’s mural powerhouse Ed Trask, Skull-a-Day artist and publisher Noah Scalin and widely recognized abstract artist Heide Trepanier, had work on display as well as a number of other artist, filling the gallery with energy and life. Along with the adult artist there were works by “young people” that made for a great showing on opening night. 

I was proud when I was asked to participate, but me being as a.d.d. as I can be sometimes I kept forgetting to pick up the guitar case lid. Luckily, one of the directors came to my job for a meeting and left the lid at my desk. Image

Above is the imagery I drew inspiration from which I had begun working on earlier this summer and I thought it  would be perfect for this project because of the bold contrast between the monochromatic images of machinery and the colorful organic shapes it seemingly produced.

Although I had no immediate purpose for this imagery to become more than a combination of different styles of abstract art, when asked for an artist statement, my natural inclination was to be (f*#kin’) political…although I really tried to stray away from it, but because most of my art gravitates that direction, why would I think this would be any different?

So the statement became:

Image

“Imagine if our most influential industries found ways to make profit by helping the environment instead of harming it.”

Image

The guitar case will be a benchmark moment in which I can say my style has shifted and, from the comments on the piece from those that were there, it is a positive new exploration in the elements I’m beginning to use. 

And with the new studio in full operation, there is more and more exploring to do!

Image

 

Image

Thanx for viewing…
k!

Leave a Reply

